First day at UofO

So a lot has happened since I last posted! I am pretty much all moved in to my apartment, but still have to unpack my room and move my desk down. Other then that all moved in! It was weird and kind of creepy sleeping alone in my apartment last night. I think I will like it once my apartment-mate moves in. Which hopefully will be in the next few days!

This morning was orientation, which thankfully was short!! I also felt proud of myself because I pretty much knew everything the lady talked about because I had found the information already. I think that is a good thing because eventually I want to do what she is doing! So I am all registered for classes for the first 4 week term. I have MUS 125 Understanding Music from 12-2 today and then SOC 301 American Society from 2-4. Hopefully these will be good classes!! If not I guess I will be done with them in 4 weeks so they will be over quick!

It is really strange walking around on campus. I had to ask for directions a few times when getting to the building where they had the orientation because I didn’t have a map. Despite coming down here for marching band every year and just visiting Eugene I have no clue where I am going. (Probably should have taken a campus tour at some point, oh well) So I am just walking around with my handy map trying not to look too lost! I am actually in the EMU (the equivalent of the UU) and I must say they do not have very many comfy couches/chairs, much less any by plug ins for my lap top. But oh well.

It still hasn’t sunk in that I go here yet. Maybe it will once I actually go to class. Although, you would think it would have sunk in when I signed my lease, or moved in, or went to orientation; but, it hasn’t yet. I was walking here from the Oregon Hall (where I had orientation) and a man came up to me and introduced himself and told me about a ministry he is running down here. Which was cool. I think it was God’s way of reassuring me that I will find community here. There is a college group that meets on Tuesday so I thought I would check that out. I am not going to be down here for a Sunday for a while, so I guess finding a church here will have to wait until then, but they will still be here so that is ok.

Anyway this is really long and I need to get lunch before my noon class, so I am going to wrap it up. Hopefully I can find someplace to get lunch!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)
    • Krista Egense
    • June 21st, 2010

    Hey! i hope you have a good first day! I am going to make sure I read all of your posts because its fun seeing what you are up to πŸ™‚ i am looking forward to seeing pictures of your apartment! i will definitely send you some of ours once everything is moved in! the carpets are getting cleaned today as well as the internet is getting put in lol so alyssa and nicole have a busy day! I am leaving for camping today with my family and will be back on thursday…it will be fun since Alena is here for the week so EVERYONE is going…even the dog πŸ™‚ Brandyn is in mexico with his church this week so if you could keep him in your prayers that would be awesome! i miss you lots but we will skype soon πŸ™‚ i love you!

Leave a comment